Now, after saying all that, although the Web Interface for GMAIL is not bad, many people (including myself) still prefer to use a full featured email client like Microsoft Outlook 2007 to access/manage their GMAIL account.  Since GMAIL now allows us to use iMAP, we can use Outlook, but still keep all email on the server.  So if you’re away from home or work, you can still access all your email from the GMAIL web interface! So, let’s get right into How-To configure Outlook to connect to GMAIL!   Update 5/20/2010 – Outlook 2010 Users – Please see the latest update here: How-To Add GMAIL To Outlook 2010 using IMAP   First, we need to enable iMAP in our GMAIL Account   1.   Login to GMAIL and Click Settings

  2.   Click Forwarding and POP/IMAP Tab, Click Enable IMAP Radio Button, Click Save Changes

  Now we need to Configure Outlook 2007 to connect to your GMAIL Account   3.   Open Outlook 2007, Click Tools, Account Settings

  4.   Click New Tip: Step 4 assumes you already have an account setup in Outlook; if this is not the case, you will get the Email Setup Wizard

  5.   Click Microsoft Exchange, POP3, IMAP, or HTTP Radio Button, Click Next

  6.   Check Manually configure server settings or additional server types Box, Click Next

  7.   Click Internet E-Mail Radio Button, Click Next

  8.   Complete all the fields as shown below (with your account information of course), Click More Settings when done

  9.   Click Outgoing Server Tab, Check My outgoing server (SMTP) requires authentication Box, Click Advanced Tab

  10.   Configure the Advanced Tab with the below settings, Click OK when done

Configure Incoming Server: 993Incoming Server Encrypted Connection: SSLOutgoing Server: 587Outgoing Server Encrypted Connection: TLSClick OK when Done

  11.   Click Test Account Settings to ensure everything is correctly configured     At the next menu just Click Next and Finish to complete the install, and you should be all ready to go.   Send Email Using GMAIL iMap Account   Sending email via your new GMAIL iMAP profile is easy.  Just prepare an email as you would any other, however before you send: Click Account and Select your GMAIL iMAP account:

  VERY IMPORTANT – When PROMPTED to configure your Sent Items Folder,   12.   Click Choose Folder

  13.   Click Choose an existing folder Radio Button and Select Trash under Gmail Folder List as shown below, Click OK when done

  Sending email VIA your GMAIL iMAP account will Automatically store a copy in your Sent Mail Folder.  Following the steps above will prevent duplicate emails from showing up in your Sent Mail folder.  Additionally, these settings will ensure that storage of all future sent email will NOT be in a different Sent Items folder, such as your Corporate Email Server.  No need keeping Personal Email on a company server.     Manage GMAIL In Outlook   Once you add your GMAIL Account and send your first email, you will have a new GMAIL Tree Added to your Navigation Bar in Outlook.

  The INBOX folder will contain all the new incoming email, and Sent Mail will be in the [Gmail]/Sent Mail folder under the GMAIL Tree.   A few other items to note:

If you FLAG emails in Outlook, it will show as a STAR in the GMAIL Web Client and Vice VersaCreating new Folders in Outlook will create new Labels in the GMAIL Web Client and Vice VersaIf you delete email in Outlook, it will move the mail to the All Mail folder in both Outlook and the GMAIL Web ClientIf you delete email in the GMAIL Web Client, it will move the mail to the Trash FolderIf you delete email from the [Gmail]/Spam or [Gmail]/Trash folder, it will permanently delete

  If you create several new Labels/Folders, yet they are not showing up correctly…I resolved this by Right Clicking on the groovyPost Mail Root and Clicking Update Folder List  

  I’m sure there are a few tips and tricks I might have missed so plz feel free to comment and leave feedback here.  Any questions, please create a new topic in our Free Tech Support Community Forum!   Tags: how-to, Microsoft-Outlook, imap, gmail Essentially were just doing some house cleaning since Google already takes care of putting a copy of the emails into the Sent Mail Folders. I hope that explains things! ? Few options. First, you can still create FILTERS in the GMAIL (Web Client) and create Labels you want then create a GMAIL FILTER to Apply a Label to emails automatically. This should Automatically move emails to folders without action from you. You can also setup Outlook Rules to automatically manage emails from your GMAIL account as well (as they arrive via iMAP into your Outlook Client). Either of these options should address your question of moving mail to folders automatically for you. I am facing the issue with Outlook 2007. When i configured outlook 2007, after configuration old mails from gmail are not downloading to outlook. Please give me the solutions of the same. Try cleaning things out a bit. Personally, I prefer iMAP. It’s the closest thing to my Corporate Exchange Client/Server experience. Easy to support, easy to manage and you never lose email if your computer dies :) Are you able to send, receive mails? You should be able to send yourself an email and check your inbox as well as check your online GMAIL account with your Web Browser to make sure it’s working. @Pieter – Sorry…… I missed your Comment. Unfortunately the COMMENT system is not the greatest for asking and tracking questions. It’s easy for me to miss a question if it’s posted in the Comment section of a Post. I recommend in the future you use the FORUM. You can find it here on groovyPost at – https://www.groovypost.com/forum/. For your question, I will post it for you in the Forum and place my answer there. Easier to answer and track and add screenshots. Thanks! I CAN remove folders from the “Sent Mail” folder in the [Gmail] IMAP tree. Any suggestions, I dont see why I can on an iPhone but not on Outlook 2007. Has anyone seen this same issue and know how to fix it or work around it without having to click in the Inbox folder(or any other folder for that matter) before the new emails will appear. Thanks! Although Outlook 2007 as a client does not seem to follow the rules 100% when deleting email in the Trash or Spam folder. Personally what I do now is I move email I want to delete into the Trash folder. By default, everything in the trash folder will be deleted after 30 days. If I want to nuke it earlier than that, I just login to GMAIL and nuke it. Not that I’ve ever done that…. I always have plenty of space on my GMAIL account so moving it to the trash folder is good enough. (BTW – The SPAM folder auto deletes mail older than 30 days as well). Call me a neat freak but I still like moving it into the Trash folder. ;) You have to look at email items completely seperate from other Outlook items such as calendar, contacts, Notes etc. These are not items that are moveable via imap. If you want to move things such as your calendar or contacts, then you need to use some type of transfer program to get them over there. Additional info: Calendare sync http://www.google.com/support/calendar/bin/answer.py?answer=98563&topic=13948 My recommendation is to leave your gmail in the folder that it is in. It is backed up by google who has much more disk space than you have at home ;). You can use leave your regular pop mail in the PST file and back that up as needed. This is the way I have mine set up and it works for me because gmail is my primary source of email and I want to be able to access it from anywhere. Depending on how your mail is set up, another recommendation is to let gmail gather all of your mail for you. This will work for any pop email you have. The nice thing about this is that I only have to manage 1 email box and let gmail do the rest of the work. When you are on the gmail web, you can choose which email account to send a piece of mail. The trick with this on Outlook to ensure you have the ability to send email via any of your mail accounts is to set up all of your accounts in Outlook, but do not include any in the periodic Send/Receive of mail. I just found the problem. In Outlook, under Tools, Options, E-mail Options the “save copies of messages in Sent Items folder” was checked. Once I unchecked this box, my replies don’t show up in my inbox. Thanks for all your help!!! OK here’s another! Having finally set myself up and made many mistakes along the way (in particular moving mails from All Mail to folders, seeing them reappear in All Mail, forgetting which I had filed and then filing them again!) I have many duplicate mails in folders. Any clever way to run a “cleaner” through all my folders to eliminate duplicates? Your help is much appreciated! Dominic Thanks! Other than that, when Outlook can’t pull mail from Google can you do other things like surf the net (just to verify it’s not an internet connection issue?)? In outlook 2003, r u able to see mails in respective mails like draft mails. sent mails as i also configured it in 2007, but unable to get i and i never try in 2003 .. if that is possible i will try that on my old PC … Perhaps assign it a new Label in GMAIL and see if it shows up. In GMAIL, labels is the same as a folder in Outlook so there might be some corruption going on. I would create a new label, make sure all the mails are there (IN gmail and Outlook) then delete the old label. Repeat the same process to create the old label and delete the new/temp label you create. ? Did it work? Maybe this will help someone else. Thnx sometimes i have to acces my gmail webmail and some messages become ‘read’ when afterwards outlook syncs my imap gmail the rules aren’t applied to the ‘read’ items. any ideas how to solve this one? tx! bazz I just came from a Lady’s business where she wanted to sync her vista Outlook 2007 with her vista laptop Windows Mail via imap. I found several terrible problems with her provider, so I was thinking of moving her to gmail, especially since gmail has such a great spam filter and the lady gets really, really hates spam. One thing I did notice was that Outlook 2007 took 10 minutes to synchronize with the bad provider, whereas Windows Mail only took three seconds. Can you tell me if the 10 minute thing (a deal killer) is normal with Outlook 2007 or was this just another of the several symptoms of a bad provider I found? Many thanks, -T I deleted the trash and deleted messages in my gmail and outlook folders in Outlook. It deleted all me messages – inbox, saved emails and sent emails. Can you please help me retrieve them. I don’t understand why this happens. thanks Great info. Thanks very much. I have an issue where new incoming email will only show up in the Gmail All Mail Folder and not in the Inbox. This only happens with people using Outlook 2007 and not Outlook 2010. Any thoughts on how to fix this? Thanks! One thing I am noticing for one of my clients is the Inbox isn’t showing all of the emails in the Inbox when looking at it via the web browser. I know if you click on All Mail it shows everything but my client really would be even more confused if they looked at this rather than seeing just the Inbox mail. Is there a setting somewhere in Outlook to adjust the number of days/emails shown in the IMAP Inbox. Note: I have set in Google NOT to limit the number of messages in an IMAP folder. Question. Can Outlook still be used as a working program to receive but not store email thru the gmail account and send email out thru the gmail account storing on gmail only? My objective here is to get my email off a corporate server or an exchange server at whatever ISP I am at. When I move, it creates a major headache because Outlook is on different servers as I move around. By moving it to gmail, it all travels with me. If I resetup Outlook as a POP, could I then have both? I would like to retain Outlook as it is more powerful and I am familiar with it. Thanks What I would do if I were you is Create a PST file (http://gpo.st/1t6), Create a few folders in the PST file called INBOX, SENT, Deleted etc…. Transfer all the email from your Exchange Server mailbox into your PST file Inbox and folders. Then create a CONTACTS folder in your PST File, go into your contacts in Outlook 2007 and copy all your contacts into your PST file as well. From there, all your email and contacts will be stored in a local PST file on your Outlook client. You can then use IMAP and GOOGLE to send email etc…. but only store what you want like you mentioned. Hope this helps! -S I want it to be configured the way if I modify anything in my calendar or in my address book, or in my “SENT, DELETED” folders, I want it all to reflect on the web.. I use an Android mobile device, and Gmail is integrated in to it.. I have no problems with the address book or any other data that could be possibly shared between the two. Basically, I want to add my PC into the “chain” that Gmail and my mobile device already have.. Can I do it and how?? Thank you Can you please help me, i’ve tried the steps above unfortunately, an error is occuring: “The connection to the server is unavailable. Outlook must be online or connected to complete this action” Plus when I was testing the account the “Log onto the incoming server (IMAP)” is unsuccessful. Appreciate if you could help me. Thank you Can you please explain to me what I am doing wrong? Regards. Joe Brincat You don’t happen to have two factor authentication setup on your GMAIL account do you? Regards. Joe My apologies. Sorry for not being clear in my reply. We are going to get you taken care of and up and running!! OK – First, two factor. This is a new feature that Google enabled for GMAIL users to help prevent accounts from becoming stolen. It’s a VERY groovy feature that we’ve talked about in depth here at groovypost. Here’s all the details: https://www.groovypost.com/howto/google-two-factor-authentication-roundup/ OK before we complicate things with Two Factor Auth. however, let’s get you taken care of.

  1. Can you first confirm that you can login to GMAIL with the password you are entering into Outlook? 2. Confirm that you enabled IMAP in your GMAIL account? 3. Confirm that for steps “8” in my how-to, you are using your own username and PW, not the ones I have in the screenshot. Silly question I know but this was a problem with another person in the past. 4. When you get through all the settings and you test with Step 11, what is your error message? Hopefully it’s working now! Let me know! -Steve Thanks and best regards. Joe
  2. Confirm that you enabled IMAP in your GMAIL account? IMAP is enabled in my GMAIL account.
  3. Confirm that for steps “8″ in my how-to, you are using your own username and PW, not the ones I have in the screenshot. For username and PW I enter the ones I use to access my GMAIL account.
  4. When you get through all the settings and you test with Step 11, what is your error message? When I do the test a window pops up asking me to enter my username and PW. By the way I have POP3 also enabled in my GMAIL account. Hope the above are enough to supply me with instructions on how to properly set up IMAP. Regards. Joe Thanks for your help. Joe How to get back my all mail in gmail. I don’t have any offline folders setup, I know I didn’t specify I wanted anything to Sync. As far as I know OL shouldn’t be storing anything from my server(s) locally onto my desktop. But OL sure seem to think it is because it takes 1-5 minutes every time I send an email. When I look at the “details” window it tells me right there “synchronizing folders”. How can I stop this, I really, really don’t like it. Thanks in advance! :) Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

Use Outlook 2007 with GMAIL Webmail Account using iMAP - 11Use Outlook 2007 with GMAIL Webmail Account using iMAP - 47Use Outlook 2007 with GMAIL Webmail Account using iMAP - 14Use Outlook 2007 with GMAIL Webmail Account using iMAP - 73Use Outlook 2007 with GMAIL Webmail Account using iMAP - 80Use Outlook 2007 with GMAIL Webmail Account using iMAP - 98Use Outlook 2007 with GMAIL Webmail Account using iMAP - 75Use Outlook 2007 with GMAIL Webmail Account using iMAP - 32Use Outlook 2007 with GMAIL Webmail Account using iMAP - 55Use Outlook 2007 with GMAIL Webmail Account using iMAP - 13Use Outlook 2007 with GMAIL Webmail Account using iMAP - 87Use Outlook 2007 with GMAIL Webmail Account using iMAP - 80Use Outlook 2007 with GMAIL Webmail Account using iMAP - 27Use Outlook 2007 with GMAIL Webmail Account using iMAP - 31Use Outlook 2007 with GMAIL Webmail Account using iMAP - 22Use Outlook 2007 with GMAIL Webmail Account using iMAP - 27Use Outlook 2007 with GMAIL Webmail Account using iMAP - 56Use Outlook 2007 with GMAIL Webmail Account using iMAP - 54Use Outlook 2007 with GMAIL Webmail Account using iMAP - 95Use Outlook 2007 with GMAIL Webmail Account using iMAP - 47