As promised, Microsoft made available Office 2010 Professional Plus for download for all MSDN subscribers yesterday.  If you have a subscription, you can grab either the x64 (64-bit) or x86 (32-bit) which are both around the same size (700 megs.) As I installed my copy last night, I quickly discovered you would need to uninstall the Office 2010 beta if you happen to have it installed.  Just something to keep in mind.  Over the next few days as I play with the RTM version, I’ll be sure to mention anything new I find VS. the free beta.   For those of you curious about what’s in Microsoft Office Professional Plus 2010, it’s pretty much the Ultimate version of the previous version of Office.  Here’s the breakdown for what’s bundled with it:

Microsoft Word 2010Microsoft Excel 2010Microsoft PowerPoint 2010Microsoft Outlook 2010 w/Business Contact ManagerMicrosoft OneNote 2010Microsoft InfoPath 2010Microsoft Access 2010Microsoft Publisher 2010Microsoft SharePoint Workspace 2010 (Previously known as Groove – aka “Ozzy’s baby”)Microsoft Office Communicator 2007 R2 (TBD)

  Should be fun playing with each of them! Looking on the MSDN site all I see is Business Contact Manager 2010 BETA. Same as here: http://www.microsoft.com/office/2010/en/outlook/business-contact-manager/default.aspx I’m at home now but when I get to work I’ll look at the box I installed Office 2010 on and see if it’s bundled somewhere….. I’m guessing it’s not actually bundled inside Office Pro Plus 2010 yet… I don’t remember seeing it when I installed it now that I think about it. Anyone else? Help! I want to play too. The key was two fold. One, my beta had quite working last week. I figured that it must just have been the end of the beta window, so I ordered the official version. The message last week had something to do with click-to-run. In exploring why I couldn’t get my official version to work, I noticed that the beta should have stayed active until October. Others with the same message about getting rid of the beta first found that it went smoothly after getting rid of Outlook Hotmail Connector which someone had noticed going on with their beta version. I looked and though I didn’t have that program I did spy ‘Microsoft Click-to-Run 2010 (beta)’. I reasoned that if it was a program remnant for them maybe it was the same for me and that was what the beta was complaining about last week – plus, plain as day right in the name was 2010 beta. I uninstalled it, restarted my system yet again, and tried the OneNote 2010 official version install. It went on without a hitch this time. Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

Microsoft Office 2010 RTM Available via MSDN for Download  groovyDownload  - 47Microsoft Office 2010 RTM Available via MSDN for Download  groovyDownload  - 80