What is Hide My Email?

When you use your email online to make purchases, it’s possible that your email address is being sold to marketers, who then sell it to other marketers, and so forth. To combat these folks and scammers alike, “Hide My Email” lets you use temporary Apple email addresses. Messages sent to these addresses are automatically sent to your primary email address. There are two ways to use “Hide My Email.” First, Sign in with Apple lets you create an account using a randomly generated email address inside a supported third-party app or website. You can also make one of these emails in iCloud Plus, in Safari, or on iCloud.com. Hide My Email is ideally suited for those times when you’re asked to fill out an online form or sign up for a newsletter. Then, when you’re tired of receiving promotional material from that email, delete it and go about your day. Regarding “Hide My Email,” Apple explains:

Creating a Hide My Email Address

Here’s a look at how to create a temporary Apple email address through the “Hide My Email” feature.

Sign In With Apple

Perhaps the easiest way to generate a new email is through Sign In With Apple through an app or website. In the following example, we’re creating an email in the official Target app. To get started:

Through Safari, the procedure is similar. In the following example, we’re signing for an account at B&H Photos:

iCloud Plus

You can also generate email addresses using iCloud Plus. On iPhone or iPad:

On iCloud.com, the steps to create a randomly generated email are as follows:

Deleting Random Emails

The easiest way to delete randomly created emails through the Settings app on your mobile device: To do this process through iCloud.com:

Hide My Email is a fantastic new feature for iPhone, iPad, and, once macOS Monterey launches, Mac. When properly used, it should cut down on the amount of spam and marketing emails you receive. Be sure to check out our article on using Safari web extensions in iOS/iPadOS 15 and look at the seven hidden iOS 15 features to try on your iPhone. Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

How to Use Hide My Email in iCloud  - 48How to Use Hide My Email in iCloud  - 38How to Use Hide My Email in iCloud  - 22How to Use Hide My Email in iCloud  - 64How to Use Hide My Email in iCloud  - 22How to Use Hide My Email in iCloud  - 81How to Use Hide My Email in iCloud  - 62How to Use Hide My Email in iCloud  - 23