At any rate, the Apple Store employee probably set it to your last four digits of your Social Security number, or 0000 or 1234 or 1111, so try those first. If those don’t fix your “password incorrect” error message, don’t fear—you can get this worked out without talking to customer support. What you need to do is call 611 from your iPhone and go through the automated voicemail password reset menu (I promise, you won’t have to wait on hold or talk to any people). I think you have to hit 1 to confirm that you’re calling from the number with the voicemail issue. Then, press 3 to get voicemail help. Then hit 3 again to reset your voicemail password. You’ll have to enter your billing zip code to verify your identity. This will take about 30 seconds after you do so.  Note that the menu options may be different for you. You can also reach this menu by hitting the little question mark that shows up in your Voicemail password incorrect error message box and touching “Call” and you’ll be connected to your cellular service provider.

In my case, AT&T texted me a new temporary iPhone voicemail password.  It arrived before I was done with the call.

But it seems that was unnecessary, because they also rolled back my voicemail tab on my Phone app to look like this:

I could just enter in a new password as if nothing happened. Actually, this may have not been a long term solution, since it broke again shortly after resetting my password, so I did it again and used my temporary password as my new password and it seems to be working just fine now. If you want to change your voicemail password after setting up your iPhone with your temporary password, touch Settings and choose Phone and touch Change Voicemail Password. Anyway, a nice tip to keep in handy, so you don’t have to keep dismissing that obnoxious “Password Incorrect: Enter Voicemail Password” screen every time your unlock your iPhone. (Note: I wrote these instructions using an AT&T iPhone 3GS in the U.S. Your instructions may be different depending on your phone and region.) And don’t even get me started on customer service lines these days…… I’ve found TWITTER actually works the best for getting help from a company these days. Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

How to Fix iPhone Error Message  Password Incorrect  Enter Voicemail Password  After Restore - 42How to Fix iPhone Error Message  Password Incorrect  Enter Voicemail Password  After Restore - 28How to Fix iPhone Error Message  Password Incorrect  Enter Voicemail Password  After Restore - 92How to Fix iPhone Error Message  Password Incorrect  Enter Voicemail Password  After Restore - 47How to Fix iPhone Error Message  Password Incorrect  Enter Voicemail Password  After Restore - 93How to Fix iPhone Error Message  Password Incorrect  Enter Voicemail Password  After Restore - 54