1. Focus
  2. Elasticity
  3. Effortlessness After enabling the new Preview theme on my Gmail account, my first thought was – “Oh, this looks exactly like my Google+ account.” So although the consistency was not a foundation design principle, it most definitely falls into the category of effortlessness. Here’s a before and after shot of my Spam folder in Gmail sporting the new UI. Before

After

For years, the UI has always been my largest complaint with Google services. The Google team has always put function over look-and-feel. I’m excited to see Google’s engineers finally investing in the UI by hiring a few designers to finish its products. If it can execute on its new plan and bring a consistent, clean new UI across its platform, it will definitely turn up the heat with its cloud rivals, Apple and Microsoft. Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

Google Getting Serious about UI Design - 42Google Getting Serious about UI Design - 6Google Getting Serious about UI Design - 75Google Getting Serious about UI Design - 7Google Getting Serious about UI Design - 39